Affiliated Faculty

Art History
Sharon Gerstel: Professor, Byzantine Art and Architecture
Lothar von Falkenhausen: Professor, Chinese Art and Archaeology
Asian Languages and Cultures
Stephanie Jamison: Professor, Asian Religions, Indo-Iranian Poetics and Linguistics
David Schaberg: Dean of Humanities; Professor, Classical Chinese Poetry and Thought
Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Massimo Ciavolella: Director, Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies; Professor, Renaissance Literature
Kathryn Morgan: Professor, Classical Greek Literature, Greek Intellectual History
Sarah Morris: Steinmetz Professor of Classical Archaeology and Material Culture, Aegean and Classical Greek Archaeology, Greek Literature
John Papadopoulos: Professor, Classical Archaeology, History & Culture
Nile Green: Professor & Ibn Khaldun Endowed Chair in World History
Michael Morony: Professor, Near Eastern History
Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
Aaron Burke: Co-director, Jaffa Cultural Heritage Project; Professor, Archaeology of Ancient Israel and the Levant; Kershaw Chair of Ancient Eastern Mediterranean Studies
Elizabeth Carter: Professor Emerita, Near East Archaeology
Kathlyn (Kara) Cooney: Chair, Department of Near Eastern Languages & Cultures; Professor, Egyptian Art and Architecture
Michael Cooperson: Professor, Arabic Language and Literature
Peter Cowe: Narekatsi Chair of Armenian Studies; Professor, Armenian Studies
Domenico Ingenito: Director, Program on Central Asia; Associate Professor, Classical Persian Literature
Ali Mousavi: Adjunct Professor, Iranian Archaeology; Director, Archaeological Gazetteer of Iran
William Schneidewind: Professor, Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitics, Second Temple Judaism
M. Rahim Shayegan: Director, Pourdavoud Institute for the Study of the Iranian World; Director, Program of Iranian Studies; Amuzegar Chair in Iranian; Professor, Iranian Philology and Ancient History
Willeke Wendrich: Director, Cotsen Institute of Archaeology; Professor of Egyptian Archaeology & Digital Humanities; Joan Silsbee Chair of African Cultural Archaeology